Dawkinswatch

Exposing Evolution As A Mess and Atheism As Hot-Air!

Should Evolutionists Scared Of Death?

with 36 comments

I know you like thinking, may I ask, what are your emotions towards your own death?  I know the answer even if you do not.  Ninety nine per cent of self confessed Atheists are scared of their own death.  The only man who was truly not scared to die was Socrates but he might have been suffering from a mental disorder but is the fear of death rational ?

No it is not, but it then it begs the question: what was the reason for living in the first place?  Yes , if there was a purpose, then you could argue that if the reason for living has fulfilled it, then death does not matter?

Can life have meaning if one is an Atheist ?  No life becomes absurd, you are on this earth for a very short period of time, you have highs and lows and when you are beginning to get the hang of it, you have to exit centre stage.

I keep saying to you that being an Atheist is a tradegy, simply because there is no ultimate purpose to life. Your emotions towards death might be an inner communication that you are entering the unknown zone,  yes Atheists might need to meditate mortality.

Written by dawkinswatch

April 15, 2008 at 2:46 pm

Posted in Purpose

Tagged with , , , , , ,

36 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is one of the reasons I so disdain this blogger and keep coming back here. He says very stupid things and with no evidence or reasoning makes claims about me and people like me on a regular basis.

    For instance “I know the answer even if you do not. Ninety nine per cent of self confessed Atheists are scared of their own death. ” He doesn’t “think” this… it is not his opinion… he “knows” it, which implies that it is a fact. It takes more then someone saying something for it to be true, dear blogger, so I’m saying put up or shut up. Present someproof for this scurrilous claim or publicly admit that you are wrong and apologize.

    Here is another. “Can life have meaning if one is an Atheist ? No life becomes absurd…” You arrogant fool. Who do you think you are to tell me my life is meaningless. I suppose cowering in constant fear of your sky-daddy, never, ever thinking for yourself like an adult, and believing in magic makes life meaningful? No, it is my opinion that it does not. Even if I am wrong (and I admit that possibility) how do you know that your childish choice is the only ine that makes for a meaningful life? You don’t, unless you can read my mind to know how I think and what I feel.

    It also amuses me that theists prate on and wail that atheists must live in fear of death. That is ironic, because one of the prime appeals of theism is that death is so feared by them that the theist will never, indeed must never, comtemplate it. They accept all sorts of foolish and unreal things simply so they won’t have to face their fear.

    Listen, silly blogger, I am an atheist. I lead a more meaningful and more moral life then you do, simply because I am moral without fear of celestial punishment and more meaningful because I know that this wondeful world and this wondeful life are all I or anyone else gets.

    Shame on you for telling lies.

    Now, I await your proof or your admission that you are wrong.

    Mike

    April 15, 2008 at 6:09 pm

  2. Hi Dawkinswatch,

    You seem to have made the common mistake of assuming that which you WANT to be true with that which IS true. They aren’t necessarily the same. It is not a proof of a God to say “Life would be meaningless without God”. Life may actually be meaningless. Just because you want something doesn’t make it true.

    I hope that the concept of this, if you understand it, doesn’t make you despair however. For me, the meaning of life is something we devise ourselves. I have a very short time of existing before I become nothing but I was nothing for zillions of years before I was born and it never bothered me. Like everyone, I am amazingly, incredibly, outrageously lucky to be alive and that my life will one day end is just a fact of, well, life.

    Life, when you think about it, probably is quite absurd, (there’s a lot of great art out there all about that), but it’s also exciting and beautiful and wonderful and fun. I very much doubt most atheists are particularly scared of death – if it caused them that much fear it wouldn’t be so hard to convince themselves of a God type figure to comfort them. In general, I would think atheists are more accepting of our place in the cosmic scheme of things – I would think so anyway -I wouldn’t be so arrogant as to claim to know.

    Finally, the meaning of life for me: Treat people with kindness and respect and try to leave the World a slightly better place for my having been a part of it (for a teeny short time).

    If nothing we do matters, all that matters is what we do 🙂

    Have a lovely day,

    Lucy

    Lucy Lowe

    April 15, 2008 at 9:10 pm

  3. “I know you like thinking, may I ask, what are your emotions towards your own death?”
    I don’t live to die. I don’t worry about it. I don’t want to die, but I’m not afraid of my death. Oh, I most certainly wish that my life wasn’t so short… there are dramas in the universe that only play out over the course of milennia like the birth and death of stars, but I’ve accepted that I’m going to die someday long ago.

    “Ninety nine per cent of self confessed Atheists are scared of their own death.”
    Citation? I’m not afraid of death. I just really don’t want to die.

    “The only man who was truly not scared to die was Socrates but he might have been suffering from a mental disorder but is the fear of death rational ?”
    No, I suppose not. To quote Epicurus… “If I am death is not, if death is I am not. Why should I fear something that is not while I am?” We fear death because we evolved to survive long enough to pass on our genes. Oh… but do you still deny that? I haven’t been checking up on you for a while.

    “No it is not, but it then it begs the question: what was the reason for living in the first place? Yes , if there was a purpose, then you could argue that if the reason for living has fulfilled it, then death does not matter?”

    Can life have meaning if one is an Atheist? No life becomes absurd, you are on this earth for a very short period of time, you have highs and lows and when you are beginning to get the hang of it, you have to exit centre stage.”
    When you look at the universe scientifically and materialistically, you do see that it’s unconscious and indifferent. There was no reason we came into being except to continue passing on the genes within us. Fair enough.

    But, have you ever seen a picture of a nebula, a galaxy, or even gone out into your backyard on your own and been moved by the beauty of it all? Have you ever marvelled at something in the real world? If consciousness hadn’t been good for genes replicating themselves, the universe would have remained… frankly dull. Luckily for us, we’re here to marvel at the wonders this universe holds as revealed by science, and luckily for the universe, there are consciousnesses here to bring meaning to it.

    I create my own meaning in a meaningless universe, and I have a great appreciation for it. No, death doesn’t matter to me as long as I have the priviledge to enjoy life.

    splendidelles

    April 15, 2008 at 10:09 pm

  4. Mircea Eliade suggested that our religious ancestors imitated the ways of God seeking to realize their human potential, but that modern people, who are relatively nonreligious, seek to realize our potential by demystifying the world – by killing God. Realization of human potential is tied up with meaning in life. So, in a sense, his writings seem to suggest that an atheist potentially finds meaning in denouncing what a religious person affirms.

    That idea is close to what Nietzsche wrote about. Nietzsche, like you, saw the potential for meaninglessness in the modern nonreligious world. I think his writings about the will to power were an attempt to find a way to escape the nihilism that he predicted we would all experience in modernity.

    In my experience, it is very rare that a person, religious or not, approaches death without some regret and apprehension.

    By the way, I think Socrates expected his immortal soul to be rewarded for standing by his principles, for standing for good. His friends tried to help him escape. He refused and asked them to not feed his doubts. And I think his last words referred to making an offering to a god, to paying a debt. I think he did fear death, but hoped that in the end, goodness overcomes death.

    Ken

    April 16, 2008 at 2:26 am

  5. THIS IS YOUR LAST WARNING: STOP CALLING PEOPLE WHO USE THEIR BRAINS “EVOLUTIONISTS”

    J. Frantz

    April 16, 2008 at 2:30 am

  6. What sort of moron isn’t scared of dying, or is fond of death?

    What sort of moron thinks that an imaginary friend (a god) is the only source of meaning?

    Dawkinswatch, that’s who – who is also proud of his ignorant and dishonest tripe.

    Dan

    April 16, 2008 at 8:33 am

  7. By the way, why are Dawkinswatch bad grammar?

    (sorry, I couldn’t resist… mocking stupidity is too much fun)

    Dan

    April 16, 2008 at 9:08 am

  8. If your life has meaning spell it out, please?

    These sort of discussions are open and I am asking you to tell us how your life has meaning assuming you are an Atheist?

    Well I can see that I have really got under your skins and you have forgotten you smooth rational approach.

    I have spoken with many theist and they have failed to tell me how their lives have meaning?

    If there is no God now why go through the ups and down?.

    dawkinswatch

    April 16, 2008 at 3:24 pm

  9. Lucy Lowe said, on April 15th, 2008 at 9:10 pm (Edit)
    Hi Dawkinswatch,

    You seem to have made the common mistake of assuming that which you WANT to be true with that which IS true. They aren’t necessarily the same. It is not a proof of a God to say “Life would be meaningless without God”. Life may actually be meaningless. Just because you want something doesn’t make it true.

    I hope that the concept of this, if you understand it, doesn’t make you despair however. For me, the meaning of life is something we devise ourselves. I have a very short time of existing before I become nothing but I was nothing for zillions of years before I was born and it never bothered me. Like everyone, I am amazingly, incredibly, outrageously lucky to be alive and that my life will one day end is just a fact of, well, life.

    Life, when you think about it, probably is quite absurd, (there’s a lot of great art out there all about that), but it’s also exciting and beautiful and wonderful and fun. I very much doubt most atheists are particularly scared of death – if it caused them that much fear it wouldn’t be so hard to convince themselves of a God type figure to comfort them. In general, I would think atheists are more accepting of our place in the cosmic scheme of things – I would think so anyway -I wouldn’t be so arrogant as to claim to know.

    Finally, the meaning of life for me: Treat people with kindness and respect and try to leave the World a slightly better place for my having been a part of it (for a teeny short time).

    If nothing we do matters, all that matters is what we do

    Have a lovely day,

    Lucy

    Lucy psychologists have measured peoples attitudes to death, it is very rare to find people who are indifferent to their own deaths.

    dawkinswatch

    April 16, 2008 at 3:30 pm

  10. If your life has meaning spell it out, please?

    What, you think that my wife, my family, and my friends don’t give me plenty of meaning? How insulting of you.

    Dan

    April 16, 2008 at 3:40 pm

  11. Also, how sad for you, that you think the people in your life mean so little.

    Dan

    April 16, 2008 at 3:44 pm

  12. I note that you are not stepping up with a defense as I challenged. I will assume that you can’t. Where is your admission of being wrong?

    Mike

    April 16, 2008 at 3:48 pm

  13. I think the question you are raising here is whether life matters if there is no ultimate aim or purpose. The question is challenging and important. It may be unavoidably tautological, even though unavoidably vital.

    I think the situation many of us face in modernity is that we have a hard time seeing any ultimate aim or purpose and we are trying to figure out what to do with that. It affects modern religious people as much as it does those who are not religious. To some extent participation in a religion does overcome that situation. In addition, people find some relief in political or social causes on in a profession or art or craft or sport. Most of us find some relief in our relationships with other people. But still, we live in a world in which it is hard to see an ultimate aim or purpose and that causes us angst that bothers us in spite of all we do to fight it. It is similar to the angst we feel when we think about our death.

    I think you are right to link belief in God or disbelief to our situation, even if our situation has other causes as well.

    I also think that it is exceedingly rare for a person to not experience doubts in their faith, to not have some trouble believing, and, in that way, all of us are to some extent atheists. At the same time, I think Mircea Eliade is right in his observation that very few, perhaps none, among us are completely nonreligious – to most of us something remains sacred: nature, for example, or beauty, or marriage, or friendships.

    Ken

    April 16, 2008 at 5:53 pm

  14. Come on, blogger, put up or shut up. Put up or shut up; “Ninety nine per cent of self confessed Atheists are scared of their own death.” Support or withdraw.

    Mike

    April 16, 2008 at 6:30 pm

  15. Are you not scared to die?

    Socrates I the only person I know who reason that life holds no fears for him.

    dawkinswatch

    April 16, 2008 at 6:48 pm

  16. Me? it doesn’t matter. You made a claim. You said, ” Ninety nine per cent of self confessed Atheists are scared of their own death.” I am asking you to back that up. You bouncing that rather stupid question back at me is irrelevant, but the level of foolishness I have come to expect.

    Now, you made the claim… can you back it up? Do you have any facts beyond your own baseless, rather inane opinion? If so, i want to hear it. That failing (and I fully expect you to fail) I wonder if you are man enough to be honest and say “I said something that was wrong. I made a baseless claim.”

    Can you do that? I have in the past seen a real tendency to be unable to admit error on the part of theists, but that is only my limited personal experience and opinion. Maybe I am wrong and you can admit it. Let’s see.

    Mike

    April 16, 2008 at 11:19 pm

  17. I’m surprised at you – by now, one would have thought you’d realize that dawkinswatch has no intellectual depth at all, and the honesty of something slimy.

    Dan

    April 17, 2008 at 5:28 am

  18. My lif has meaning it comes froim trying to get closer with GOD.

    angryxtian

    April 17, 2008 at 7:03 am

  19. Oh, I am pretty sure that you are right, Dan, but hope springs eternal. I thought I would give him a chance.

    So, Blogger, I ask again… are you going to step up and be an adult or are you going to remain a craven puppy? Provide evidence, or even a decent argument, or admit that you were wrong and apologize to those you defamed.

    Mike

    April 17, 2008 at 12:59 pm

  20. Mike you are the proof tell us whether you are looking forward to death?

    dawkinswatch

    April 17, 2008 at 6:29 pm

  21. My, my, my, how they do backpeddle.

    First off, your initial claim used the word “scared”. Now, you have switched to “looking forward to”. Any other goalposts you care to move? Do you mean “scared” or “not looking forward to”? These are not equivilant statements. Which is it? To answer, I am not scared but I do not look forward to it, just as Splendidelles above said.

    You said (I quote again) “Ninety nine per cent of self confessed Atheists are scared of their own death.” Whether I personally am or not is not nearly enough data for you to make such a claim. So, again, I ask for you to provide some substantiation or to admit your error and withdraw your claim.

    You are, by the way, nicely fulfilling my expectation that you would be unable to admit your error, even when it is so obvious.

    Mike

    April 17, 2008 at 6:57 pm

  22. Keep it up Mike, although I’m jealous that you’re having all the fun.

    For myself, I’m curious as to why dawkinswatch looks forward to death (that’s how I read his comments), and whether or not his family knows that they mean absolutely nothing to him.

    Dan

    April 17, 2008 at 7:45 pm

  23. Still waiting, blogger. Put up or shut up.

    Mike

    April 18, 2008 at 1:09 pm

  24. My life has far too much meaning to spend any more of it attempting to have a balanced discussion with someone who does not answer simple questions, throws out random personal attacks and generally shows no respect for truth or politeness. What a shining example of a Christian you are.

    lirone

    April 18, 2008 at 9:49 pm

  25. Still waiting, blogger. Can you answer or can’t you? Well?

    Mike

    April 18, 2008 at 10:56 pm

  26. Ok, at this point I am just going to go ahead and say what everyone here already knows.

    Blogger, you are a craven dog. You know you told a stupid lie but you aren’t man enough to admit it.

    You are low and stupid, enough so that you give christianity; one of the most destructive forces to mind and body, the individual and societies, in history, a bad name.

    Mike

    April 19, 2008 at 2:36 pm

  27. okay, this annoys me. There are some people in this world that claim to be Christians and further the work of God, but instead hinder it and turn people off a relationship with God.

    I am a christian, I believe in God as well as science. I have nothing against other peoples opinions and am interested to hear them. It is possible to share opinions and have a reasonable debate. It can open eyes on both sides. However, what has happened here is sad. Please blogger, stop insulting people, making irrational claims and generally defaming my and millions of others beliefs. There are better ways to get your opinions out there and share God with others. Please consider another path.

    David

    April 22, 2008 at 1:31 pm

  28. David this chair I am sitting on claims to be a christian, and we can do without the blackmailing.

    Do you know how I know that you are putting a number on me yoou used the Atheist buzz word.

    If you find anything irrational pease point it out, and please let us discuss te fear of death.

    dawkinswatch

    April 22, 2008 at 1:40 pm

  29. Wow. Still ducking and weaving, are we blogger? I guess we never will see you admit your error.

    Oh, and I suggest you google “No True Scotsman”. It’s the fallacy you commited when you implicitly claimed David was as much a christian as your chair.

    Shame on you.

    Of course, you are shameless so my admonition will fall on deaf ears.

    I will not stop asking for a reply to my question till I get one.

    Mike

    April 22, 2008 at 8:14 pm

  30. Again, no. I’m not afraid of death. I just really don’t want it to happen. If you told me I was going to die by sunset, I might cry a little, but I wouldn’t run out of my house and wave my arms about madly out of fear. Why should I fear death? There won’t be any pain, any suffering, any stubborn theists who won’t admit that they’re wrong about my fear of death…

    splendidelles

    April 22, 2008 at 11:09 pm

  31. Mike, I said that my chair claims to be Christian, these days you have to gives us proof that you are Christian with Hilary Clinton and Beyonce claiming to be Christian.

    stuffgirlslike

    April 23, 2008 at 10:30 am

  32. Oh! So you were engaging in the “No True Scotsman” error.

    I suppose it is you, since we presume that your chair among others must apply to your judgement, who makes the decision as to the acceptability of doctrine?

    Mike

    April 23, 2008 at 12:56 pm

  33. Wait a second… did I miss something? Is Stuffgirlslike the blogger?

    If so, I renew my request that you provide support for you 99% statement or retract it and admit your error like a man.

    Mike

    April 23, 2008 at 1:04 pm

  34. dawkinswatch or stuffgirlslike,
    Indeed, retracting your continuous stream of lies and stupidity would be wonderful. Please try it someday.

    Dan

    April 23, 2008 at 1:49 pm

  35. ” stuffgirlslike said, on April 23rd, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Mike, I said that my chair claims to be Christian, these days you have to gives us proof that you are Christian with Hilary Clinton and Beyonce claiming to be Christian.”

    Are you giving that proof blogger? If so you’re just setting a bad name for Christianity.
    This may be cliche, but really What Would Jesus Do? Ask yourself that before flaming others opinions and ideas. Remember, it is not you who can judge and condemn, only God.

    David

    April 23, 2008 at 2:54 pm

  36. Y’know… Dawkinswatch still hasn’t cited his source that 99% of Atheists are afraid of death… Any day now…

    splendidelles

    April 28, 2008 at 5:13 pm


Leave a Reply

